Creepy Crawly Couture

Beetles are fashion?? Ew! Who would buy that?! Yet, photo-shoots and runways are exploding with the new look of beetles. In Mexico, art is literally moving off the shelves and becoming one of the hottest trends. Small gems and gold are glued onto the body of live beetles. This comes from an old tradition taken by the Mayans where they would decorate wingless beetles from the Yucatan Peninsula. Lengend indicates that centuries ago a Mayan princess was not permitted to marry the man she loved and so she stopped eating and drinking. A medicine man saw her problem and changed her into a Maquech beetle so she could stay close to the heart of the one she loved by being pinned to his chest.  I doubt that I would be cool with my love being turned into a beetle pet if I was in the man’s situation. I’d rather have a girl than a beetle. But on each harmless beetle, a decorative safety pin is attached with a 2-inch-long chain leash. These beetles can live up to 3-4 years and can be difficult to get approved to go over the Mexican border. This photo has been taken from the link below and even though I find this mildly disturbing, I think I would get one.

Maquech-Beetle-550x366

Beetles have also recently come into the fashion industry. Beetle inspired looks have become trendy on the catwalk. Designers are now getting inspireation from these tiny creatures and I kinda like it. Some of these designs would be something I would totally wear out, but I;mnot saying that I want to look like a dung beetle, just that this fashion trend is something different. This photo is from site Trend de la créme where they actually had a beetle inspired catwalk in London! You can check the rest out here: http://www.trenddelacreme.com/2008/02/london-fashion-week-bettle-mania.html

beetle_12

“Maquech Beetles – Living Insect Jewelry from Mexico | Oddity Central – Collecting Oddities.” Oddity Central Collecting Oddities.

Leave a comment